News and Reviews (Juni 2015)

Finalist of the "Deutscher Gründerpreis" 2015

Successful business and entrepreneurial spirit 

Offizielles-Pressefoto-Dt-Gründerpreis_Finalist.jpg DGP_R_4C.png.png

Two of the four Nanoscribe founders: Dr. Michael Thiel (CSO, left) and Martin Hermatschweiler (CEO, right), Photo: Bärbel Schmidt, Deutscher Gründerpreis.

We are very proud to announce that Nanoscribe is nominated for the “Deutscher Gründerpreis” (EN: “­German Founders’ Award”) 2015 in the category “Aufsteiger” (EN: “rising star”). 

The company hence represents one of the most successful start-ups in recent years in Germany. The experts of the jury were equally impressed by both the ground-breaking capabilities of Nanoscribe’s 3D printers for the nano- and micrometer scale and the entrepreneurial expertise of the founders. 

The jury, which votes on behalf of the German Founders’ Award partners, stern magazine, the Sparkasse savings bank network, Europe’s largest broadcasting TV station ZDF and Porsche, was impressed by how successfully the company had been able to establish itself thanks to clear unique selling points. The founders have developed a marketable product from the results of their basic research and positioned it on the world market. The company idea arose on the initiative of Professor Martin Wegener, the work group leader at the Institute for Nanotechnology and the Institute for Applied Physics at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). It was here that the later co-founders Martin Hermatschweiler, Dr. Michael Thiel and Dr. Georg von Freymann (today professor at TU Kaiserslautern) were engaged in research together.

These scientific findings, coupled with the entrepreneurial spirit of these four physicists, constituted the company’s foundation – Nanoscribe was born. It was the  first spin-off from the KIT at the end of 2007. 

The head of research and development, Dr. Michael Thiel says about the nomination: “I hope that our example will encourage other scientists from basic research to develop marketable products.”

The award ceremony will take place on June 30, 2015 in Berlin. You can watch the ceremony via web streaming: